Pondering God’s wisdom in making mothers memories get sucked out with the millk

 

I’ve never had a great memory, but post-Tot, it’s worse than ever. I forget things that I’ve had memorized for YEARS.  And this is perfectly normal, I mean, every mother I know complains that their memory gets bad after having a baby.  I’ve heard that this is supposedly to forget the physical pain of labor, but really, the labor pain pales in comparison to the pain kids inflict on their parents for the rest of their lives.  Take for example last month – the week of 104-105° fevers that Tot conjured up just in order to get us to stay home, instead of going to Italy.  (I was tagging along with Mr. Tot on his business trip and this was before I found out I lost my job)  The pain, the pain!   Seriously, I was just so freaking scared that the high fevers would fry her incredible little brain, and leave her somehow less than she should be.  Then there’s today when she pitched a fit in the library – oh joy, or the days where she refuses to take a nap.  Of course, the poor memory could be to enable mothers to survive ALL of the pain they inflict on us.   Or more likely, to enable THEM to survive.  Sure they’re cute, but you still want to throttle them every once in a while, or perhaps every 30 minutes for a 9 month period.  Yes, Tot turns two next week…. and I am already preparing new nicknames  – Tot the Terrible, Tot the Terror, Typhoon Tot, Tasmanian Tot, or Teeny Tiny Tempestuous Tenacious Terminator…  That’s not too long for a nickname, is it? 

toughtot  dscn5538

1 Response to “Pondering God’s wisdom in making mothers memories get sucked out with the millk”


  1. 1 Sherri April 2, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    If it makes you feel any better at all – I have no kids but my memory has turned into a big colander (it too me forever to think of that word, for instance). You blame your memory issues on your kid, I will blame mine on my stroke, deal?!


Leave a Reply

Number of Curious People

  • 5,706 hits
wordpress visitors

