Abuse of Privilege

Yes, I have been abusing my mommy privileges.  I just can’t help myself.  Lately every time I tell Tot I love her, she responds in this delicate little tot voice, “I luv you too, mommy” that is so adorable I wish I could bottle it.  Needless to say, I’ve been telling her I love her a LOT lately.  I just hope I don’t wear her little response out.   Last night, I went into her room and watched her sleep for a while.  She looked so peaceful, I just wanted to hold her and absorb her calm, though I knew if I did, she would wake up and the brown stuff would hit the proverbial rotorblades.  Plus Mr. Tot says she takes after me in the sleep department.  Sleeping with her is a contact sport, which may involve head-butting, elbow punches and other injury-producing movement.  So after I watched her for while, I went to catch up on my Tivo’d shows.  I watched an episode of Gray’s Anatomy, which I soon found out, involved a little girl dying.  I was quickly a snuffling, teary-eyed mess.  I had already been feeling a bit sentimental before the show even started and it did not help my situation in the slightest.  So after the show, I had to go up and check on Tot and cry in her room for a while.  I covered her up, which made her shift, and I ventured into dangerous territory by clearing her hair out of her face and giving her a kiss.  I also whispered so quietly, I didn’t think she could possibly hear me, “I love you, tot”.  And she, without opening her eyes, mouthed back, “I love you too, Mommy.”  Oh, that slayed me.  I was toast.   I told Mr.Tot and he had to go spend a moment with our little girl too.  

Gotta savor the moments and store them up to last through those teenage years!

1 Response to “Abuse of Privilege”


  1. 1 Mr. Tot May 6, 2009 at 3:26 am

    Ok, so I had to go up to The Tot’s room too. And I pulled her blanket down over her (exposed) feet and kissed her on the head. From her sleep she said “thank you.”

    Her mom sure is raising her right!


Leave a Reply

Number of Curious People

  • 5,709 hits
wordpress visitors

