Did Sleeping Beauty have a sleep disorder?

I think it was called a coma….

 

My mother left me a message that she’s worried about me.  All I can figure out is because I haven’t been blogging….well, that and my last blog entry said I was trying to catch up on life….  At this point, I don’t think that’s possible….  BUT, I have an excuse, other than my brain mush.   I was working on a commission quilt, and I’m actually making progress!!  Here’s proof Tulip2– once I add the borders and quilt it, it won’t look all wrinkly – I swear.  And the Tot always keeps me busy of course…  Yes, here she is eating roasted broccoli.  BroccoliGirlThat’s my girl. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My doctor’s office called today and said the results of my sleep test were in.  They wanted to schedule an appt to discuss the results.  I feel like I was just called into the principal’s office….  So…, obviously they found something.   Now I have to wait until Thursday to find out what it was.  Never one to be patient, I figure it’s time to disagnose myself – yes, it’s time to surf the web.  (Now in Tot’s world, web surfing is flying on a spider web, thanks to Miss Spider’s Sunny Patch friends. )  So hang on, and suspend your disbelief…

 

Gotta LOVE Wikipedia for this list of sleep disorders.… 

Spin the wheel, Vanna!! Oh wait, she turns the letters… I have to spin my own wheel –  What do I have???   Choices are:

 

I can rule out a lot of these.  Thought I didn’t have sleep apnea based on my Stanford Sleep Study 20 years ago, but the technician told me I did have some apnea during REM sleep but she wasn’t sure it was enough to treat, or something like that….  Narrowing down the list, I know I sleep walk and talk.  Haven’t gotten chewed out by my dentist about grinding my teeth.  Insomnia?  Uh, NOOO. well, except when I’m totally freaking out about life, about once a year or less. Not that I don’t freak out more often than that, just that I don’t lose sleep over it.  Oh, or vomiting…. and then headed to the ER til the wee hours. Hopefully that’s done and gone.  Aside from that, I’m usually out a few minutes after my head hits the pillow.  Or sometimes before.  Just ask Mr.Tot.  HE’s the insomniac.  Though he’ll blame it on me, and the Tot and the dog…  We all snore.  And I occasionally hit, scream, climb the walls, pace about the room, and rant.  See?  I get lots of practice ranting… That’s why I’m so good at it.  But I digress.

My guess for my condition is either Rapid eye movement behavior disorder (RBD) or more likely, Narcolepsy.  

Narcolepsy:  The main characteristic of narcolepsy is excessive daytime sleepiness (EDS), even after adequate night time sleep. A person with narcolepsy is likely to become drowsy or fall asleep, often at inappropriate times and places. Daytime naps may occur with little warning and may be physically irresistible. These naps can occur several times a day. They are typically refreshing, but only for a few hours. Drowsiness may persist for prolonged periods of time. In addition, night time sleep may be fragmented with frequent awakenings. Four other classic symptoms of the disorder, often referred to as the “tetrad of narcolepsy,” are cataplexy, sleep paralysis, hypnagogic hallucinations, and automatic behavior.  Only about 20 to 25 percent of people with narcolepsy experience all four symptoms. ( cataplexy, sleep paralysis, hypnagogic hallucinations, and automatic behavior

I don’t have the cataplexy or the sleep paralysis that I know of, but I definitely have Hypnagogic hallucinations and Automatic behavior.  In my experience, I get so tired it seems painful to try to stay awake.  

Hypnagogic hallucinations are vivid, often frightening, dreamlike experiences that occur while dozing, falling asleep and/or while awakening.  Automatic behavior means that a person continues to function (talking, putting things away, etc.) during sleep episodes, but awakens with no memory of performing such activities.  (until Mr.Tot tells me about them…)

Treatments may include stimulants (they actually listed methamphetamine!!! )  No, thank you.  Multiple short naps – Ahhh, that sounds good.  Frequent walks.  My general philosphy is Stay on my feet, lest I fall asleep.  I haven’t fallen asleep while standing yet, but there’s always a first.  I did fall asleep at a rock concert…   

 

The other possibility is REM sleep behavior disorder (RBD), though my problems started very young…, so I’ll vote for the narcolepsy.   Did I mention my uncle has it?  And my dad says he wakes up a LOT.

REM sleep behavior disorder (RBD):  In a person with REM sleep behavior disorder (RBD), the paralysis that normally occurs during REM sleep is incomplete or absent, allowing the person to “act out” his or her dreams. RBD is characterized by the acting out of dreams that are vivid, intense, and violent. Dream-enacting behaviors include talking, yelling, punching, kicking, sitting, jumping from bed, arm flailing, and grabbing. An acute form may occur during withdrawal from alcohol or sedative-hypnotic drugs.  RBD is usually seen in middle-aged to elderly people (more often in men).  

REM Sleep Disorder Causes

The exact cause of REM sleep behavior disorder (RBD) is unknown, although the disorder may occur in association with various degenerative neurological conditions such as Parkinson disease, multisystem atrophy, diffuse Lewy body dementia, and Shy-Drager syndrome. 

Lovely, though I do often feel like I’m already in the midst of dementia, so who knows?

I will announce the winner on Thursday…. Meanwhile, I’m trying to catch Toonce’s attempt at breaking the sound barrier on video in his race to the food bowl.  I may even document him bouncing off a wall….  

1 Response to “Did Sleeping Beauty have a sleep disorder?”


  1. 1 Jason August 2, 2009 at 11:41 am

    This is a great site you have here. I have a humor blog myself and I would like to exchange links with you. Let me know if this is possible. Until then, I look forward to reading some more of your posts. Take care.


Leave a Reply

Number of Curious People

  • 5,709 hits
wordpress visitors

